Club Information

Club History

Wasabi Paddling Club was founded in 1993.  It is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to the participation in, and promotion of, the national and international amateur sports of Dragon Boat and Outrigger Canoe racing. Our club has remained true to its goal of developing strong, competitive teams through mentoring and top-level coaching.  Our coaches are recognized both at the local and at the national level as some of the best in the world.  As a member of the Portland Boathouse, Wasabi is a part of the new effort to provide a long-term location for non-motorized watersport in the Portland area.  Our members are active community members spearheading fundraisers and contributing time to various community efforts.


Board of Directors

Club Officers

  1. Sallye Bergland (elected in 2023)
  2. Vassar Byrd elected in 2022)
  3. Connie Flesuras (elected in 2021, re-elected in 2023 )
  4. John Dean (elected in 2023)
  5. Larry LaMarsh (elected in 2022, re-elected in 2023))
  6. Jill Metz (elected in 2022)
  7. Brinton Olsen (elected in 2023)
  8. Alex Page (elected in 2022)
  9. Jennifer Radtke (elected in 2022)
  • President - Allie Wellman (appointed February, 2022)
  • Vice-Presidents - Jill Metz and Vassar Byrd (both appointed February, 2022)
  • Club Secretary - Laura Freeman (appointed 2016) 
  • Club Treasurer - Crystal Anderson (appointed June, 2023 )
  • Assistant Treasurer - Joanna Haney (appointed 2015)

Chairs, Coordinators and Liaisons

  • Safety Officer - Larry LaMarsh (appointed June 2023)
  • Coach Coordinator - Cindy Hickman
  • Outrigger Program Coordinator - Kirsten Day
  • Manager Coordinator - Lori Laws
  • Maintenance Chair - Gretchen Matarro
  • Community Liaison - Kaspar Murer
  • Regatta Sport Uniform Jerseys - Carolyn Stewart 
  • Wasabi Wear– Jennifer Radtke
  • Social Media/Facebook - Ingrid Olson
  • Website Administrator - Laura Freeman
  • TeamSNAP Administrator- Laura Freeman

Wasabi Non-Profit Director Code of Ethics

1). Selflessness. Board members should make decisions in terms of the overall club’s interest and the public interest. They should not do so in order to gain financial or other material benefits for themselves, their families, or their friends.

What does this mean:

a). Externally to Wasabi this means that a board member can never use information obtained as a member for personal gain but must act in the best interests of the organization.

b). Internally to Wasabi this means that a board member must never favor one discipline, activity, or team over those of the entire club. 

2). Integrity. Board members should not place themselves under any other obligation to outside individuals or organizations that might influence them in the performance of their official duties.

3). Objectivity. In carrying out the business of the club board members should make choices based only on merit and facts. 

4). Accountability. Board members are accountable to the membership and the public for their decisions and actions and must submit themselves to whatever scrutiny is appropriate to their office.

What does this mean:

a). A basis for this rule is the trust of the members and the public that Wasabi will manage membership dues, fees and/or donated funds or equipment to advance Wasabi's mission.

b). It requires board members to obey the law and, as with all club members, Wasabi’s code of conduct, club policies, rules, and procedures.

5). Openness. Board members should be as open as possible about all the decisions and actions they make. They should give reasons for their decisions and restrict information only when the wider club or public interest clearly demands such restriction.

6). Honesty. Board members have responsibility to declare any private interest relating to their director duties and to take steps to resolve any conflicts arising in a way that protects the club’s interest.

What does this mean:

Should a board member have a conflict of interest, or believe one may exist, they must declare it.

7). Leadership. Board members should promote and support these principles by leadership and example.

Non-Profit Board Director Duties

1). Duty Of Care

The duty of care describes the level of competence that is expected of a board member and is commonly expressed as the duty of care that an ordinary prudent person would exercise in a like position and under similar circumstances. 

2). Duty Of Loyalty

The duty of loyalty is a standard of faithfulness; a board member must give undivided allegiance when making decisions affecting the entire organization. 

3). Duty Of Obedience

The duty of obedience requires board members to be faithful to the organization's mission. They are not permitted to act in a way that is inconsistent with the central goals of the organization. 

This document has been signed by all members of the Board of Directors and the Club Officers.

finish line
blessing oc